About
The earliest foundations of the Hare and Hounds date back to 1854, when it was constructed as a farmhouse. Further parts were subsequently added, and others enhanced, in the early 20th century, all of which match the original and traditional style of the farmhouse building.
A section of the hotel exclusive to weddings, known as “Westonbirt”, got its name from the national arboretum, which neighbours the grounds of the hotel. The grand Beaufort Restaurant is the most popular of the licensed ceremony rooms, and takes its name from Beaufort Polo Club, which sits behind the grounds of the hotel.
Today, the hotel is operated by the Cotswold Inns and Hotels group, who purchased the building in 2008. A renovation transformed the interior into the homely, traditional-yet-modern state that it enjoys today.
The Cotswolds Inns and Hotel group own other venues across the Outstanding Area of Natural Beauty, including The Swan Hotel, The Bear of Rodborough, The Manor House Hotel and The Bay Tree Hotel.