Rowhill Grange was built in the 1860s as a summerhouse for wealthy teenager Alice Alexander. She and her family resided in the area until 1916 when the house was sold to Sir George Cole, the Lord Mayor of London. During the half-century from 1928 it belonged to the Wates family, who planted the striking spruce tree that still stands opposite the main entrance today. In 1978 the summerhouse was sold to a local butcher who proceeded to convert it into a hotel and restaurant. Rowhill Grange changed hands again in 1994 and it became the hotel and spa it is today.
The Victorian coaching house still stands unaltered, showcasing the original clock from Swanley Town Hall. Thus it is now known as the Clockhouse Suite, one of the hotel's wedding sub-venues.