Originally founded as the 'Fox and Hounds' in 1254, with parts of the surviving building dating back to the 16th century, the hotel boasts an incredible depth of history. The name was changed to 'Hare and Hounds' in 1822, and then to its current title in 1905.
The stunning countryside surrounding the hotel have inspired peacefulness and creativity in many visitors over the centuries, notably Queen Victoria, Jane Austen, Wordsworth, and John Keats, who completed his 1817 epic 'Endymion' during his stay.
In 1801 Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton visited the hotel, just a few years before Nelson sailed to a heroic death at the Battle of Trafalgar. The Lady Hamilton Room commemorates this today.
The 16th-century Tithe Barn was re-erected and joined the hotel in 1934, and nowadays is used as a gorgeous wedding venue.