History The Pavilion was first proposed in 1932 when the ninth Earl De La Warr was elected mayor of Bexhill-on-Sea. De La Warr urged for the Pavilion to be built and in 1935 it opened its doors for the first time. As a centre for entertainment and culture, it initially did very well until the outbreak of WWII, during which it suffered bomb damage. The Pavilion recovered for a time until lack of funds led it to fall into a state of disrepair. However, during the 1980s a Trust was formed which began to restore and protect the fabric of the Pavilion. By the 1990s, the popularity of iconic 20th-century buildings such as the Tate Modern led to renewed interest in restoring the Pavilion as a viable cultural centre and, in 2005, the facility opened as the innovative modern gallery space it now is.