The Picture House Cinema and Restaurant boasts over 100 years of rich cinematic history. The land was purchased by a local surveyor in 1881 whose daughter later purchased the land and proposed to build a cinema in 1910 but the proposal was rejected by the council.
The plans were later approved in 1915 and were commissioned to be designed by talented architect Walter Long. The building initially opened as a theatre for troops in 1916 and later film screenings commenced for the public in 1920.
After having several owners throughout the years, in 1964 Roy Markwick bought the cinema and it has remained in his family ever since.