Tavistock itself has a long history, growing up around the town's Abbey, the richest in the South West, and was granted its Royal Charter in 1105. It's a well-known local fact that the Benedictine monks are to be given credit for Devon's famous Cream Teas!
The inn was first mentioned in 1719, and it is thus named after the Duke of Bedford who was Tavistock's feudal landlord. In the early 19th century the building was renovated by Jeffry Wyatt - the famous Regency architect who redesigned Windsor Castle.
1822 saw the completion of the newly-revamped hotel, and the ballroom was added in 1830. It was for some time a satellite of the international Forte dynasty, but is now in private ownership and boasts an enviable reputation as Tavistock's premier hotel.