History Quex House inherited its name from the Quekes family, owners of the estate in the 1500s who made a vast fortune from Kent's thriving wool industry. John Powell bought the house and farm in 1777, his son replacing the Tudor with a Regency mansion in 1813. The Waterloo Tower was built in 1819 and still contains a unique secular peal of 12 bells. In 1881 Henry Horace Powell-Cotton inherited the estate, enlarging Quex House for his three children. The museum was later established by Percy Horace Gordon Powell-Cotton, a showcase for the impressive array of cultural objects and natural history items that he had collected during his various expeditions to Asia and Africa, of which the museum still boasts an extensive collection of dioramas today.