Built in 1875 by George Burt, once known as 'The King of Swanage', Purbeck House Hotel features a tiled floor originally laid in the Houses of Parliament and authentic statues from the royal exchange. Constructed in the Scottish Baronial style and replicating the features of a castle, this stunning venue occupies the highest point of Swanage high street which only enhances its walls and towers.
Previously a Convent School for 60 years, the house was acquired by John and Chris Hutchins in 1997. They transformed the space into a relaxing and characterful hotel which has been successfully hosting weddings for 20 years now.
In 2003, the Louisa Lodge was constructed in the Purbeck House grounds which was designed to imitate the original house. The traditional and contemporary features of this house are intertwined in their bedrooms for guests to enjoy the views of Swanage Bay.