Although a new venue for weddings, Bracon Lodge has a long, rich history. The original house was built in the 17th century, then sold in 1765 to John Corbould, one of the City Fathers of Norwich. He was a partner in the hatmaking firm Corbould and Willmot, and the house stayed in the family until 1810. The Corboulds made alterations to the house, enlarging it and building a unique crinkle crankle wall in the gardens. The famed architect Nikolaus Pevsners made particular note of this, and the prominent porch, in his issues of The Buildings of England.