The current buildings can be dated back to the 1800s and were developed and converted in 1971. However, the estate boasts a wealth of history, spanning way back over the last millennium.
It is first mentioned in around 926 when Athelstan, Saxon King of England, granted manses to his servant Ethelnoth. Robert de Moreton owned these aforesaid manses at the beginning of the 13th century, and they were later passed into ownership of Chamberlains, then held by the Le Pohers for five generations.
Eventually the Washbourne family came into possession of The Moretons in 1411, and surviving two Civil Wars, Commonwealth and Restoration, the estate passed in 1663 to William Hancock.
In 1631 John Washbourne XII emigrated over to New England. Then, some 350 years later, an American couple, Mr and Mrs A L Washburn from Missouri, stayed at The Moretons. Here, they discovered that the family had owned the estate for 252 years!